We need some darkness in our lives

Tired? Try getting a little darkness back into your life! I believe we in the electric world need to recover the night and the soothing calm of darkness – and overcome fear at the same time.

Stars in the night sky

Stars in the night sky (not my pic - apologies to photographer)

I really believe we need to get back in touch with nature and the night sky, with the rhythms of the days and seasons – and most of all, we need to give our eyes a rest – and thus give our brains a rest!

When did you last spend time in the dark, other than sleeping? It is wonderful, soothing and beautiful – and rarely pitch black. There is in fact much to see, its just that it is never normally seen.

Last night I took Rachel outside, into the garden. To her surprise (there is no clue of it when inside the house) the sky was littered with bright stars. The plough and north star very prominent but to the south we were dazzled by the beam from the lighthouse. Around about the individual houses of neighbours shed light too and far off, over the hill, the glow of the Flotta gas flare and street lights gave an ominous orange throbbing from the ground upwards, reminiscent of burning towns during the blitz (I guess). It is far from dark. I can watch the darker grey of clouds shifting slowely across from the west. I can see the stone walls white, then mere shadows, depending upon if the lighthouse beam hits them. Off across the fields a neighbours diesel generator is the biggest intrusion. The air is chilly, the grass wet with dew. The sea laps gently upon the shingle beach. The air is clean and fresh, infusing my lungs with the coolness of moist air. Delightful!

“We”/ society, generally now live in perpetual light and brightness, extending the day with electric lights to the point where we fear the dark. We then bombard our visual senses still further with car headlights, televisions and computer screens! It is exhausting, and stressful.

Lets reclaim the night, turn down the lights, turn off the tv and feel the stress slip away into the dark. Let your eyes open once more, explore the subtle and the previously unseen, delight in the stars, the moon, clouds and aurora. Last night we watched shooting stars and the shimmering light of a ship out on the bay. The cattle were munching across the meadow, birds were hopping about the walls. The clouds tumbled effortlessly across the sky, shrouding the hills and sea.

Needless to say, but I will, my other senses delight in being allowed to operate once more, after the loud noises, strong smells and bright lights have diminished. The warm breeze caressed my arms making my hairs stand on end, the air tasted salty – I was delighted to be awake, alive and free!

Give yourself time to become sleepy, put out the lights, or return to the warmth and gentle glow of candles. Try it! Just 10 minutes each night – let the natural world flood back into your life, and feel the benefits. It will also reduce your energy bill and carbon emissions.

🙂

Just imagine the endless barage of stimuli your eyes and brain are getting – from first waking to last thing at night. No wonder we are exhausted! No wonder it is hard to enjoy the subtle beauty of nature. We have pollution overload! We are shielding our senses from the full onslaught of brightness and information to be processed. I say, take a break! Give your eyes a holiday, a well earned rest, and feed your brain gentle images to calm the wave patterns and still the mind.

Dare to walk at night, in garden or lane. Try it without a torch even and be amazed!

If you cannot escape the pollution of streetlights, cars and houses, I feel for you – but I suggest you try all the more to experience a little less eye stimulation. Begin by turning off the lights in your house. Go for a walk in nature, exposing yourself gradually to the gentle light of night time. Put your torch in a bag or pocket. Save it for later. Try candles, and try just letting your eyes relax. Most important of all, give the television and computer a rest!

I promise you – life will be better if you trust your other senses. Even a walk under the orange glare of street lights is preferable to the retina burning brightness of indoors, the dazzle of car headlights, the intrusion of security spotlights.

The best books about stars in the night sky and Natural Navigation

21 responses to “We need some darkness in our lives

  1. Wonderful advice! I agree with every thing you said.

    I too love the darkness and seek it out when I can.

    I’m lucky, where I live there are no street lights, only the ‘orange glow’ of near by towns.
    I can walk in the darkness through fields and lanes and use the skill of seeing
    with out looking, to make sense of the shadows that come out to play in my nocturnal
    walks.

    I hope many are inspired by these wise words of yours.

    • Thank you – I fully relate to your description of walking in the dark and I am pleased to know someone else out there feels the same way. Keep in touch.
      Regards
      Malcolm

  2. i need you to tell me the link where you got this picture…. i found some very strange things in the pic. tell me the name of photographer at least. thank you in advance

  3. “Dare to walk at night” What about daring t horse ride at night? One of the best stress relieving things I do is get on my Highland Pony bareback, in the snow and go for a moonlight ride up the short hill at the back of the house. Just me, the moon and stars and of course a warm pony underneath me!

  4. As a kid, I spent most of my summer nights under the open skys and oh, how much I loved staring at those stars, the planets (on lucky days) and the occassional meteors, trying to figure out all the mysteries of the universe.

    Thank you for the thoughtful post.

  5. One day I hope people will realize the damaging affects of light pollution. Maybe we need the perfect solar storm, to knock the power out, even just for a few days. It would show everyone what they are missing and what surprises are waiting for them in the darkness. Thank you for your post. I’m glad to know others feel the same way I do.

  6. A very good suggestion.. you’ve reminded me of a childhood of gazing at the stars. My students (near London) didn’t know what the Milky Way was today.
    I’m gunna turn the laptop off right now and enjoy a quiet and dark evening.
    Thanks!

  7. I experienced what you write about when I was a child. The power went out, and I had to read by the light of a kerosene lamp. I was disappointed when the power came on. I remember staying outside in a darker world, looking at a moon that looked twice as big as it does to me today, and the sky full of stars. I miss it.

  8. Really no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of after that its up to other users that they will help, so here it happens.

  9. Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I
    am going to revisit yet again since i have book-marked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

  10. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site.
    I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get
    my very own website now 😉

  11. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told was a entertainment account it.
    Look complex to far delivered agreeable from you! However,
    how could we keep in touch?

  12. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog
    and was curious what all is required to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any
    suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

  13. Excellent website you have here but I was wanting to know
    if you knew of any message boards that cover the
    same topics discussed in this article? I’d really love to be a part of online community where
    I can get feed-back from other experienced individuals that share the
    same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Many thanks!

  14. It’s amazing in support of me to have a web site, which is useful in support of
    my know-how. thanks admin

  15. I do accept as true with all of the ideas you’ve presented
    in your post. They’re really convincing and will definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for newbies.
    Could you please lengthen them a little from next time?
    Thanks for the post.

  16. Hi, this weekend is fastidious in support of me, as this moment
    i am reading this wonderful informative piece of writing here at my residence.

  17. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It actually used to be a amusement account it.
    Glance advanced to more introduced agreeable from you! By the way,
    how could we keep up a correspondence?

  18. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else
    encountering issues with your site. It seems
    like some of the text within your content are running off the screen. Can somebody
    else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This may be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Appreciate it

  19. I do agdee wwith all of the ideas you have ovfered tto
    your post. They’re very convincing and will certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for beginners. Could you please prolong tem a little
    from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

