Scallop shell oil lamps

I teach people how to make these oil lamps on my survival courses – but I thought this picture too beautiful to not share, so here it is:

Scallop shell oil lamps from Orkney clams

If you want to know how to make them, see the next couple of blogs.

If you want to join in the Power Off weekend, go to this link

2 responses to “Scallop shell oil lamps

  1. Hello …! What marvellously intriguing blogs you write …! I was introduced by Michelle, from the Island Blogging site, and I’m sure I’m going to be a regular reader …!

    Pretty Please, would you tell me how you make the scallop shell lanterns …? ie what fuel do you use in them …? I have loads of scallop shells all year around, and would love to know how to use them for lighting during our own power cuts …!

Leave a Reply

